Club News

After a disappointing end to 2021 due to the impact of COVID-19, it’s great to finally see everyone out on the paddock and busily preparing for season 2022.

Whilst numbers are steadily increasing and there are a lot of new faces on the track (both Male & Female), we would still like to hear from those that haven’t ventured out along with anyone else that would like to get involved and try their hand at AFL.

Since my last write up which covered the AGM, a lot has been going on behind the scenes. Work has finally commenced on the Artie Smith Oval Upgrade which is EXCITING news. We finally got around to holding our XMAS Party & Presentation Day (See summary below),  set up a stand  at the Nowra Show which not only provided a great PR opportunity, but also appears to have unearthed a few more recruits.

On top of that, the Ladies have successfully secured a Grant to conduct a ‘Welcome to AFL ‘Gala Day at the Nowra Showground on the 13th of March which is pitched at encouraging young women (aged 5 and above) to come along and try AFL.

Whilst all the Award winners are spelt out below, I would like to make Special mention of Simone Hackett who received the Clubman of the Year; and Matthew Hickmott on receiving Life Membership.

As I have said a number of times in recent years, our Club is extremely fortunate to have so many willing workers who would all be equally deserving of such a prestigious award, however we just felt that Simone’s contribution as Secretary and more importantly as a Strapper, set her aside from the rest, not to mention her contribution to the Juniors.

In Matthews case, he started off as the Club’s ball boy, before he was old enough to run water, messages and even the boundary some weeks.

In 2000 when the Juniors formed, he became an integral part of a successful U/16 side that won premierships in 00 & 01. In 2002 he took out the Club’s U/16’s Best & Fairest Award, which he repeated again in 03 along with the SCAFL B&F and a Reserve Grade Premiership.

In 04 he made his 1st Grade debut, winning Premiership Flags in 04, 06 & 07 before moving to Cairns in 08, a decision that ended up costing him another medallion.

He returned in 09 and despite a significant rebuild and a slow start to the season, the Tigers almost knocked off Kiama in what would have been a huge boilover. Apart from being close to BOG in the G/F that year, he also finished R/U in the B&F count and took home the Tiger of the Year.

In 2010, he was probably having his best ever year for the Club until injury hit and cost him further Premiership success. Whilst Matt has played plenty of games in 1st Grade since, it’s fair to say he has never really regained the form or fitness required to play at the level we all knew he was capable of.

With 199 games for the Club and a host of awards in both grades, it would appear Matt’s playing days are over for the time being, however he remains a vital cog for the Club both as the Junior Vice Pres on the Senior Committee & President of the Juniors.

Apart from his on field contribution, Matthew has also coached Reserve Grade, been an Assistant 1st Grade Coach, served on the General Committee, been a Club Umpire, Major Sponsor and is probably best remembered for his work on the microphone at many of our WHOOA Cups.

Congratulations mate, well deserved.


50 Games –Adriaan Toms & Lachlan Hunt
300 Games – Luke McCann

Encouragement – Jared Wright
Coaches Award – Morgan Murphy-Knight
Most Consistent – Matthew Hickmott
Tiger of the Year – James MacDonald
Runner-Up B&F – Mitch Wurr
Best & Fairest – Jeremy O’Byrne

Best Backman – Grace Hughes
Coaches Award – Nayana Patmore
Encouragement – Imogen Clarke
Most Consistent – India Patmore
Tiger of the Year – Lily McDonald
Runner-Up B&F –Rhianna Nelson
Best & Fairest – Lily McDonald

Encouragement – Lachlan Hunt
Coaches Award – Jake Satchell
Most Consistent – Matt Lawrence
Tiger of the Year – Ryan Kelly
Runner-Up B&F – Adriaan Toms
Best & Fairest – James Phillips

Best 1st Year Player- Kamille Carter & Gavin Costain
Rookie of the Year Rose Hughes & Ryan Kelly
Most Improved – Shaye Cruickshank & Will Ozolins